News‎ > ‎

All Ireland Sevens

posted 5 Sep 2010, 03:10 by Jonathan Tavey   [ updated 5 Feb 2012, 05:23 ]
Inniskeen's senior hurlers picked up their second historic accolade this year as they won the Kilmacud Crokes All Ireland Hurling Sevens Shield Competition on Saturday, 4th September.

They started their campaign in Group A at 10.30 on Saturday morning at Oatlands College against Burt Hibernians from Donegal, picking up a draw in their opening game. Next up was a nine point victory over London outfit, Father Murphys. The final group game was a hugely impressive victory over Cappagh Gaels from Tyrone, with Inniskeen victorious by thirty-two points.

This left Inniskeen top of the group and into the semi final where they faced Group B winners Clonguish from Longford. In what turned out to be the highest scoring match of the tournament, with a total of fifty-five points, Inniskeen edged their way into the final by just one point.

Eoghan Ruadh from Tyrone were the opposition in the final, at Glenalbyn, and in the end it was Inniskeen's greater ability to take points which saw them run out two point winners and claim another famous victory.

The Inniskeen squad was:
Kevin Boylan, PJ Boyle, TJ Byrne, Pauric Dowdall, Trevor Hilliard, Michael Lennon, Seamus Loftus(Capt), David McGahon, Paul Meegan, Ronan Meegan, Martin Murphy.

Burt Hibernians 3-07 Inniskeen 3-07
Inniskeen 2-14 Father Murphys 2-05
Inniskeen 12-04 Cappagh Gaels 2-02

Semi Final
Inniskeen 6-10 Clonguish 6-09

Inniskeen 3-10 Eoghan Ruadh 4-05