News‎ > ‎

Grattans News

posted 3 Feb 2014, 01:58 by Jonathan Tavey
By Peter Cassidy 

Inniskeen GAA Lotto Results: 
There was no Jackpot winner this week; the draw took place on Monday 27th of Jan. 
The numbers drawn were 03: 22: 23: 26. Next week's Jackpot is €8000. 
€20 Lucky dip winners were: 
Blathin Marron, Corduff (Paul Meegan) 
Philomena Gormley, Cloughvalley, CMX (T McKenna) 
Mary McKenna, C/O Joey Byrne (J. Byrne) 
Aiden Courtney, Drumnagrella (D McArdle) 
Cormac O Carroll, C/O John Boyle (J.Boyle) 
Next draw will take place on Monday 03rd @ 7.30pm 
Feb Rota is: P Cassidy, Paddy Meegan & Brendan Meegan 
Thank you for the Support 

Quinns corner pre season Ulster League: 
Our Intermediate lads are in action this weekend in the Quinns corner pre season league. First up is an away match against Doire Trasna on Sunday. Best of luck to Alan and the Men as they Kick off 2014. 

Intermediate Championship 2014: 
The draw took place on Monday night for this year’s Championship; our guys are out in round 1 against Sean McDermott’s. Venue and dates will be announced closer to the time.

Fantasy Football GAA League: 
Back by popular demand, the Inniskeen Grattan’s players and members are again entering this year’s online Fantasy GAA National league and we would encourage anyone interested to get involved and join us for a bit of fun.
Basically it is an online competition where we all go in every week and predict results in the upcoming 2013 National league season. It’s easy to work online and great fun for all involved as last year proved. Who would have thought that a round 10 game in Division 4 would have so much interest? If you would like to participate this year,  contact Paul Meegan on 0879434176 for further information. Great Prizes available to the best predictors! 

Mass For the deceased Members: 
We are holding our annual Mass in Inniskeen for deceased members of the club on this Saturday 1st February @ 7pm. Please come along to pay your respect to those who served our club well. 

2014 Membership night this Friday: 
We are changing the format this year to a one off walk in membership night.
If you wish to become or renew your current membership please attend our open night this Friday (31st of January) and sign up. 2014 membership costs will be as follows: 
Adult: €30, Couple: €50 and U18’s: €20. 
Note only paid up members (as of 31st March) will be eligible for the All Ireland ticket draw.
The Venue for the open night will be in Pairc Grattan under the stand. 

Grattan Oige 

Juvenile presentation night: 
The juvenile presentation night was held in the Community Centre on Friday 17th of January.
County stars Darren Hughes and Donal Meegan were in attendance to make the presentations and they brought along the senior and minor Ulster Championship Cups.
A large attendance were present as no fewer than 5 Cups had been won and where presented.
The following got player of the year awards in their respective teams in football: 
Liam McGrath, Shane Hanratty, Andrew Woods and Peter Boylan. 
Those who received Most Improved Player were as follows: 
Conor Walsh, Gareth Quinn, Jack Hoey and Sean Russell.
The Overall Juvenile Player of the year went to Aaron Gernon who produced some fine performances in both the U16 and Minor competitions.
In Hurling Pauric Keenan and Pauric Russell took the Player of the Year Award and Gareth Quinn and Conor Gernon took the Most Improved Player Awards.
Overall Hurling Player of the Year went to Seamus Kindlon.
Congratulations to the players and all the teams who competed so well last year and best wishes for 2014.
The Juvenile Committee would like to thank Aidan Hand of Hand Agri contractors for sponsoring kit bags to the juvenile players for 2014. 
They certainly look the part and we wish him continued success in the years to come. We also want to thank the senior committee for the shorts and socks which were also given to the players on the night.
All in all the night was a great success and we certainly look forward to this year ahead.

The Juvenile AGM took place on Wednesday 22nd of January. 
The committee looked back on what was a very successful year and hope that we can continue this into 2014.
Our treasurers Mairead McGahon and Briege Boylan did not seek re-election and were thanked for the great work done during their term.  
Pat Burns and Sean O’Reilly took over these roles. Ronan Finnegan was elected in the PRO position for the coming year and we wish them well in their respective roles. 

The team manager’s were appointed and are as follows:
U6 and U8: Sean O’Connor, U10: Christy Hughes and Pat Burns, U12: Sean O’Reilly ,Pat Burns, Christy Hughes, Dermot Jones and Martin Quigley
U14: Seamus Hanratty, Dermot Jones, Pat Burns, Sean O’Reilly and Martin Quigley
U16: Anthony Keenan, Barry Kindlon, Aidan Lynch
Minor: Aidan Lynch, Jimmy Russell 
Hurling the 
U6 to U12: TBC
U14: PJ Boyle, Mary Woods & Ronan Finnegan
U16:  John Deery, Mary Woods, PJ Boyle and Donal Meegan